by Viridiana B. Martinez

Image

Dear Friends, Family, and Supporters:
The past 5 years have been a learning experience. From helping start the first undocumented youth led organization in North Carolina, to coming out of the shadows as undocumented and unafraid, to participating in civil disobedience and stopping deportations. I’ve even gone as far as turning myself in to immigration authorities, placing me in deportation proceedings. It’s been this struggle that has allowed me to put together the pieces of the puzzle: Although I have lived as an undocumented immigrant for the past 20 years, I have discovered that I am actually a U.S. citizen. This is why today, I am reaching out to you in hopes that you can help me gather the evidence I need to claim my citizenship.
Make a donation here: http://www.gofundme.com/viridiana
My claim to citizenship starts with my grandfather who was born in the United States. I need to travel to his place of birth in Texas to gather evidence of his time spent there. Once I have gathered all the evidence required, I will be submitting form N-600 to claim my citizenship. The fee for this submission to USCIS is $600. Your contributions will go towards this fee and travel expenses to get to Texas and back to North Carolina for my third immigration court hearing in Charlotte on April 15, 2014.
If you’d like more information, you can call me at (919) 704-0599 or email me at ispeakingles@gmail.com.
Thank you for your support today and always!
Sincerely,
Viridiana
