dreamgrad cinthia

 

by Cinthia Marroquin

Last year in June I traveled to Washington DC for the annual DREAM graduation. The National Immigrant Youth Alliance organized the DREAM Graduation as a way to reflect on the accomplishments of undocumented youth leaders within the last year, and to welcome yet another class of DREAM activists into the movement; and welcome I felt. As each person on stage told his or her story, parts of my story and parts of the stories of other undocumented youth were reflected in their words. Because of their encouragement, I can finally say that I am undocumented. I am unafraid to say so and I am compelled to take action.

I’m writing this post in anticipation of the 2013 Dream Graduation, and the first anniversary of my coming out of the shadows. This movement has become an inspiration to me. It has taught me that in order to generate change at a mass scale, you have to be willing to put yourself out there. My coming out publically with my story has allowed me to be part of this movement which has most importantly redefined the immigrant community itself. Being Undocumented is no longer something that I am ashamed or afraid of.

The Graduation and convening of hundreds of other undocumented people from around the country really opened my eyes and made me realize how privileged I am; so I decided to join this amazing group. In the past 10 months I’ve learned so much from stopping deportations to infiltrations, and it all started at the graduation. You can read about my experience at last year’s graduation here!

This year’s celebration will be on July 9th in Washington, DC.

LOCATION: Lutheran Church of the Reformation, 212 East Capitol St., NE, Washington, DC 20002

RSVP: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1BkIsPu9lQ_D7Qu2_anlvDEn9W3TaldhJt7wRhvdjGo8/viewform

Image

