When I was a little girl and before we migrated here to the United States, my familia was always very close. Growing up, I was fortunate to have a mother and a father who showered me with unconditional love and care. One of my fondest memories is when I was 5 years old and Daddy and I would sit and watch Lucha Libre on Sunday mornings. He would shout along with the comentaristas “los rudos, los rudos, los rudos!” He was a fan of the legendary Santo and Blue Demon. Times were good back then. Daddy had a good job and my mother didn’t have to work. Little did I know that 20 years later, I would become a luchadora too.. a luchadora for human rights. 

As an undocumented immigrant who is no longer living in the shadows, in fear and ashamed, I am no longer a victim. I have chosen to come out publicly to declare what this government says is my “illegal” status in this country. But three years in this struggle has not come without a price. It has emotional and physical implications of its own. So I gather faith and strength in the stories of resistencia de mis antepasados, mis raices, mi sobrina Camila de 4 meses, y la rabia que siento por las injusticias diarias que vive mi comunidad. For this, I am Undocumented, Unafraid, and a Luchadora! 

And, see, you can be a luchadora too! Today, Mexico’s Lucha Libre tradition comes to Durham as ten luchadoras face off in the ring at Motorco Music Hall. Bring the whole family! Come and enjoy lucha, sangre, y miedo from 12 pm to 3 pm and help us continue our work in the community. Proceeds of this round will help us continue to stop deportations, organize youth empowerment summits and Conoce Tus Derechos trainings. Admission is $5 and children under 12 get in free. I hope to see you there. But if you can’t make it and would like to contribute, consider making a donation by clicking here. Thank you for your support! 

La lucha sigue!

Viridiana

What/Evento: Luchadoras 2                                                            

When/Cuando: Sabado, January 21, 2012                              

Where/Donde: Motorco in Durham, NC                                     

Time/Horario: 12pm to 3pm                                                             

Click here to RSVP! Haz click aqui para ver el evento en facebook!

Proceeds will help us continue our work. Te esperamos! Muchas gracias de antemano. 

